WASHINGTON, DC - NOVEMBER 22:  U.S. President Barack Obama awards the Presidential Medal of Freedom to former Federal Communications Committee Chairman Newt Minow during a ceremony in the East Room of the White House November 22, 2016 in Washington, DC. Obama presented the medal to 19 living and two posthumous pioneers in science, sports, public service, human rights, politics and the arts.  (Photo by Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images)