Queen Victoria (1819 - 1901) surrounded by courtiers at Balmoral Castle on the River Dee, 1868. The group includes Anne, Duchess of Atholl, Princess Beatrice, Princess Louise Caroline Alberta, Duchess of Argyll, King Edward VII, Prince Leopold, Duke of Albany, Arthur, 1st Duke of Connaught and Strathearn. (Photo by W. and D. Downey/Hulton Archive/Getty Images)