UNITED STATES - SEPTEMBER 08:   Herbert MORRISSON, for England, signing the peace treaty with Japan. With this peace treaty, Japan was forced to give up its colonies (Formosa, Korea, Sakhalin Island, the Kouriles Islands etc.) but was given complete political and economic sovereignty. However the United States continued to station its armed forces there. This treaty was signed by 49 countries and refused by Poland, the USSR, and Czechoslovakia.  (Photo by Keystone-France/Gamma-Keystone via Getty Images)